Video highlighting the 2015 EFS retreat

2015 EFS Retreat

The Entrepreneurial Faculty Scholars will host its third annual retreat Monday, Oct. 5, 2015 at the Natural History Museum of Utah. Titled "Origins of Creativity in the Arts and Sciences,”this event features a star-studded panel from three Utah campuses (UU, USU, WSU), federal agencies and the A2RU, that will explore ways to enhance and promote cross-disciplinary research on university campuses. With performance modules, interactive projects and transdisciplinary networking, this will provide many ways to interact with colleagues from all over the campus!

WHAT: 2015 Entrepreneurial Faculty Scholars Retreat, food and beverages served

WHEN: at 4:30-9 p.m., Monday, Oct. 5, 2015

WHERE: Natural History Museum of Utah, Swaner Forum/Sky Gallery, 301 Wakara Way, Salt Lake City, UT 84108 (map)

THEME: "Origins of Creativity in the Arts and Sciences"

RSVP: Email

2015 Event Details


  • 4:30 – 5:15 p.m. — Arrival and museum tour (Pigeon Genetics; Eye to Eye; Glyph)
  • 5:15 – 6:35 p.m. — Panel: Creating and Nurturing Opportunities at the Arts/Science Interface (see agenda at right)
  • 6:35 – 6:45 p.m. — Overview of Interactives, Speed Dating, and Performance modules
  • 6:45 – 7:30 p.m. — Networking reception + Interactives (Poemage; ACT; patient empowerment game)
  • 7:30 – 8:00 p.m. — Cross-disciplinary Speed Dating Tables 1 (Speaking Transdisciplinary Languages)
  • 8:00 – 8:30 p.m. — Performance module 2 (Crossroads Project; Dance and Digital Technology)
  • 8:30 – 9:00 p.m. — Final networking, noshing and departure


  • Kate Coles, Poet Laureate, co-moderator
  • Sarah George, Executive Director, NHMU, co-moderator
  • Laurie Baefsky, Executive Director, Alliance for Arts at Research Universities (A2RU)
  • Glen Hanson, UUtah and former director of National Institutes of Drug Abuse
  • Nancy Huntly, USU and former National Science Foundation Program Officer
  • Jason Rhody, National Endowment for Humanities (Digital Humanities) (by Skype)
  • Douglas Sonntag, National Endowment for the Arts (Performing Arts, Dance)
  • Ruth Watkins, Senior Vice President, Academic Affairs, UUtah
  • Chuck Wight, President, WSU


  • All members of the Entrepreneurial Faculty Scholars
  • Participants in cross-disciplinary and entrepreneurial programss



  • Dave Matty, Dean (Science)
  • Madonne Miner, Dean (Humanities)/Provost
  • Chuck Wight, President


  • Rob Davies, Physicist; Crossroads Project co-lead
  • Anne Francis, Fry St. Quartet; Crossroads Project co-lead
  • Rebecca McFaul, Fry St. Quartet; Crossroads Project co-lead
  • Nancy Huntly, Director, USU Ecology Center & former NSF program officer
  • Randy Lewis, USTAR Professor of Biology


  • Rich Brown, Dean (Engineering)
  • Kirsten Butcher, Educational Psychology — (Advanced Critical Thinking Project)
  • Madlyn Runburg, NHMU Director of Educational Initiatives
  • Dianne Harris, Dean (Humanities)
  • Thomas Parks, Vice President for Research
  • Raymond Tymas-Jones, Dean (Fine Arts)
  • Ruth Watkins, Senior Vice President, Academic Affairs


2015 retreat panel discussions

From Ellen Bromberg

From Rob Davies and the Fry Street Quartet, USU

From Jim Agutter and Ellen Bromberg